Updated closure information

Looking for an antidote to isolation? In response to our desire for connection in an age of distance, we bring you a completely digital, wholly personal and wonderfully live experience.

Love Letters

 

Arts Centre Melbourne will present an exclusive Australian performance of the international digital tour of Love Letters Straight From Your Heart. Based on the critically acclaimed UK theatre show, join us online to raise a glass to long lost loves and current lovers, to mums and dads, and to absent friends.

Described as somewhere between a wedding reception and a radio dedication show, every performance is unique and collaboratively authored with its audience. Before the performance, audience members are invited to send in music requests, dedications and declarations of love to those they care about past and present. These words are incorporated into each performance; dedications are spoken, toasts are made, speeches are given, songs are sung and dances danced.

Created by theatre makers Uninvited Guests, Love Letters is a joyful, open-hearted show that will help people feel connected at a time when many are missing their loved ones. Originally performed in 2007, this work was a critical 5-star hit in the UK. The digital version will be performed live via Zoom to an audience of up to 90 (45 pairs) each night and will ‘visit’ 14 venues internationally, including Arts Centre Melbourne on 19 June.


Australian performance information

Date and time
Friday 19 June at 8pm (Melbourne)

Tickets
**ALLOCATION EXHAUSTED**
Free, with the option to donate if you can.
Love Letters will be performed live via Zoom to 45 screens. Tickets are first in best dressed.

Book now – limit 1 screen booking per person.

International Tour Dates

20 May Brighton Festival (7pm)
22 May The Holbeck, Leeds (7pm)
27 May Contact, Manchester (7pm)
29 May Eden Court, Inverness (7pm)
3 June Bristol Old Vic (7pm)
5 June La Teatreria, Mexico City (11pm UK / 5pm Mexico)
10 June CAP UCLA (10pm UK/2pm Los Angeles)
17 June Theatr Clwyd, Wales (8pm)
18 June ARC, Stockton (8pm)
19 June Arts Centre, Melbourne, Australia (11am UK/8pm Melbourne)
20 June ASU Gammage, Arizona (10pm UK, 2pm Arizona)
24 June Alphabetti, Newcastle (8pm)
25 June The Abbey, Dublin (7pm and 9pm)
26 June Tour Finale (8pm)

Reviews

★★★★★
"a marvellous piece of theatre that blowtorches away Britishness and forces you to feel."Time Out


★★★★★
"You can’t help but fall in love with it… you simply feel part of a huge community as lives, hopes, dreams and sadnesses are offered up in a way that is blisteringly honest"The Guardian


"authentic and heartbreakingly sincere… I don't think I have ever wept so much in a show"Independent on Sunday

Cast and Creatives

Created by Uninvited Guests
Produced by Fuel
Love Letters was originally a BAC Scratch and Arnolfini We Live Here commission, also commissioned by Leeds Met Studio Theatre.
The digital version is co-commissioned by First Art.

 

 

Fuel


While you're here, please consider donating to:


Arts Wellbeing Collective

Arts Wellbeing Collective

A mental health and wellbeing program specifically tailored for the performing arts. Donations are needed to help increase access to the Support Act Wellbeing Helpline - a 24/7 phone counselling service available to anyone who works in the performing arts.

Donate

Go to the top