Performance dates & times

11 – 19 August

Preview Matinee

Saturday 11 Aug
2:00 PM

Evening Performances

Saturday 11 Aug
7:30 PM
Wednesday 15 Aug
7:30 PM
Thursday 16 Aug
7:30 PM
Friday 17 Aug
7:30 PM
Saturday 18 Aug
7:30 PM
Thursday 23 Aug
7:30 PM
Friday 24 Aug
7:30 PM
Saturday 25 Aug
7:30 PM

Matinee Performances

Sunday 12 Aug
3:00 PM
Tuesday 14 Aug
1:00 PM
Wednesday 15 Aug
1:00 PM
Saturday 18 Aug
2:00 PM*
Sunday 19 Aug
3:00 PM
Wednesday 22 Aug
1:00 PM
Saturday 25 Aug
2:00 PM
Sunday 26 Aug
3:00 PM

*Audio Described Performance

Price range

Standard
$48.00 – $143.00
Concession
$73.00 – $128.00
Youth
$24.00 – $71.00

All online orders are subject to a Service Charge of up to $8.50 per order, plus any optional additional postage charges

Arts Centre Melbourne Members do not pay the $8.50 Service Charge when booking tickets online. Join today to enjoy this saving and other benefits of membership!

The iconic Australian musical, The Boy from Oz, turns 20 in 2018, and to celebrate we're staging a new production. 

Rohan Browne, (Singin’ in The Rain, Brigadoon) stars as Peter Allen, and Caroline O’Connor (Funny Girl, Anastasia (Broadway) and The Rink (London)) returns to The Production Company for the role of Judy Garland. Also starring Loren Hunter (Dusty) as Liza Minnelli, Matthew Manahan (Brigadoon) as Greg Connell, Robyn Arthur (Singin' in The Rain) as Peter's mother, Marion Woolnough and Francis Greenslade (Winners and Losers) as his father, Dick Woolnough.

This is the dazzling, funny and moving story of the legendary Australian entertainer Peter Allen. From a humble start, Peter was singing in country pubs at age 11. He survived family tragedy to become a teenage TV star. Discovered by Judy Garland, he married her daughter Liza Minnelli and went on to achieve international stardom as a performer and songwriter.

The Boy from Oz includes many of Peter Allen’s best loved hits:
'Quiet Please', 'There’s A Lady On Stage', 'Not The Boy Next Door', 'Everything Old Is New Again', 'I Honestly Love You', 'I Still Call Australia Home', 'Tenterfield Saddler' and the show-stopping 'I Go to Rio'.


Cast

Rohan Browne
Peter Allen
Matthew Manahan
Greg Connell
Caroline O’Connor
Judy Garland

Credits

Music and Lyrics by
Peter Allen
Originally Produced by
Ben Gannon and Robert Fox
Musical Director
Michael Tyack
Costumes
Tim Chappel
Lighting
Trent Suidgeest
Book by
Nick Enright
Director
Jason Langley
Choreographer
Michael Ralph
Set
Christina Smith
The Production Company Orchestra

LOADING