Give more children access to the performing arts.

Performance dates & times

Running Time 1 hour, 45 minutes (including interval)

Price range

All online orders are subject to a Service Charge of up to $8.50 per order, plus any optional additional postage charges

Arts Centre Melbourne Members do not pay the $8.50 Service Charge when booking tickets online. Join today to enjoy this saving and other benefits of membership!

Italian pianist Alessio Bax was First Prize-winner at both the Leeds and Hamamatsu international piano competitions.

In this concert he plays Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.27 in C minor, the most symphonic of concertos, for his MSO debut.

Composed around the same time as Mozart’s Don Giovanni, it shares much of the opera’s unrelenting tension and tragedy. So defiant and intense is the music, it’s as though Mozart has burst through the boundaries of his conventional times.

Sibelius’ First Symphony was written around the same time as his patriotic Finlandia: a time his native Finland was struggling for independence. Rich and romantic, the First Symphony is subtly flavoured with the Finnish folk-inspired melodies that would become quintessential Sibelius.

Full of the same drama and intensity as his Fifth Symphony, Beethoven’s Egmont Overture makes for an arresting opening to this dynamic program.


Sir Andrew Davis
Alessio Bax


Egmont Overture
Piano Concerto No.27
Symphony No.1

Go to the top