Performance dates & times

Running Time 1 hour, no interval

Price range

All online orders are subject to a Service Charge of up to $8.95 per order, plus any optional additional postage charges

Arts Centre Melbourne Members do not pay the $8.95 Service Charge when booking tickets online. Join today to enjoy this saving and other benefits of membership!

The impeccable artistry of Camille Saint-Saƫns is heard to grand effect in the first of his cello concertos, a work radiant with the melodic elegance and soulful passion that the cello conveys so well.

The concerto is characteristic of Saint-Saëns’ desire to extend upon the foundations of the great classical repertoire through the gradual evolution of the composer’s skill and craftsmanship.

Mendelssohn’s music to accompany A Midsummer Night’s Dream was born from a deep affection for Shakespeare’s plays that stemmed from the composer’s childhood. Mendelssohn converted his delight in Shakespeare’s words and stories into music bristling with the comic electricity and fairyland charm of the play. Star violinist turned conductor, Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider, brings his superb musicianship to this concert, and will lead the Orchestra through this winter-warming concert.


Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider
Jian Wang


A Midsummer Night's Dream (excerpts)
Cello Concerto No.1

Go to the top