Murder & Redemption

- +

“We invited Pekka to unleash his imagination and this is the result.”

- Richard Tognetti

Murder & Redemption

Australian Chamber Orchestra presents presents

Murder & Redemption

Making a Murderer meets the David Bowie of the violin

Inspirational classical music mastermind Pekka Kuusisto and the Australian Chamber Orchestra are joined by American modern folk hero Sam Amidon in Murder & Redemption, a stunning concert experience that takes the listener on a vivid journey from darkness into light.

Experience the world premiere of this exceptional collaboration between Pekka, Sam and “one of the greatest chamber orchestras in the world” (The Guardian, UK) as they perform folk masterpieces re-imagined by indie-classical composer Nico Muhly and Amidon himself, interwoven with thematically-resonant classical works by Janáček, John Adams and more.

This innovative opening to the ACO’s 2017 concert season has it all: sex, murder, transformation, mercy. Janáček’s Kreutzer Sonata is based on Tolstoy’s novella, a scandalous tale re-imagined in a concert format by Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto, “a classical performer who genuinely connects what goes on inside the concert hall with the world outside – a rare and important performer for our times.” (The Guardian, UK).

Amidon, a hit with Australian festival audiences and whose interpretations of American folksongs have been described as “surreal”, “magical” and “quietly psychedelic”, makes his ACO debut.




TRADITIONAL (arr. Nico Muhly) Kedron
JANÁČEK (arr. strings) String Quartet No.1 ‘Kreutzer Sonata’: I. Adagio con moto
TRADITIONAL (arr. Nico Muhly) Way Go Lily
JANÁČEK (arr. strings)    String Quartet No.1 ‘Kreutzer Sonata’: II. Con moto
TRADITIONAL (arr. Nico Muhly) Wild Bill Jones
JANÁČEK (arr. strings)    String Quartet No.1 ‘Kreutzer Sonata’: III. Con moto – Vivace – Andante – Tempo I
TRADITIONAL (arr. Nico Muhly) How Come That Blood
JANÁČEK (arr. strings)    String Quartet No.1 ‘Kreutzer Sonata’: IV. Con moto
TRADITIONAL The Redemption Set
JOHN ADAMS Shaker Loops: I. Shaking and trembling
BRACKETT Traditional Shaker hymn: Simple Gifts
JOHN ADAMS Shaker Loops: II. Hymning slews, III. Loops and verses, IV. A final shaking


Pekka Kuusisto Director & Violin 
Sam Amidon Voice, Guitar & Banjo
Australian Chamber Orchestra


5 & 6 February 2017

Sunday 5 February, 2:30pm
Monday 6 February, 7:30pm

Duration: Approximately 2 hours, including interval


Hamer Hall


Price range

Early bird: $53.20 – $151.05
Concession: $47 – $139
Under 30: $49

Book this concert as part of a 3+ concert package to receive a discount. Purchase online here.

For ACO 2017 subscriptions, please visit

Concession prices are valid for all holders of a Federal Government issued concession card.

Early bird prices valid until Sunday 15 January 11:59pm.

Ticket Delivery

A delivery fee may apply depending on your chosen delivery method:
Venue Collection or Regular Mail: FREE
Registered or Express Post: $5.50 per order

Service Charge

A $7.95 Service Charge applies per order to bookings made online or by phone, mail, fax and email.

Payment Processing Charge

Where indicated during the booking process, a per ticket charge applies of 1.05% of the advertised ticket price when:

  • paying by card or gift voucher online, which are the only payment methods available
  • paying by card in person, by phone or mail

Optional Express Ticket Delivery

A $5.50 per order charge applies if you wish to have tickets sent by Express or Registered Post.

All prices include GST.

Read more about all fees