Performance dates & times

Saturday 21 Apr
7:30 PM

Running Time 1 hour 30 minutes including a 25 mins interval

Price range

FREE (Bookings Required)

DUKAS – The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
TCHAIKOVSKY – Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture
MUSSORGSKY – Pictures at an Exhibition arr. Ravel

The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra opens its 2018 orchestral program with Dukas’ symphonic poem, The Sorcerer’s Apprentice. A fantasia, or fantasy, of a different kind is revealed in Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture, with the rich and colourful orchestration depicting the narrative of love and loss. The concert concludes with Ravel’s arrangement of Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition, which leads the listener past a series of contrasting and evocative scenes.

Richard Davis – Conductor

The University of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra is supported by The Sidney Myer and MSO Trust.