Performance dates & times

Saturday 8 Jun
7:30 PM
Monday 10 Jun
6:30 PM
Tuesday 11 Jun
7:30 PM
Wednesday 12 Jun
1:30 PM, 7:30 PM
Thursday 13 Jun
7:30 PM
Friday 14 Jun
7:30 PM
Saturday 15 Jun
1:30 PM, 7:30 PM
Monday 17 Jun
6:30 PM
Tuesday 18 Jun
7:30 PM
Wednesday 19 Jun
1:30 PM, 7:30 PM
Thursday 20 Jun
7:30 PM
Friday 21 Jun
7:30 PM
Saturday 22 Jun
1:30 PM, 7:30 PM

Running Time 2 hours 55 minutes, including 2 x 20 minute intervals

Price range

Adult
$47.00 - $314.00
Child
$37.00 - $207.00
Senior
$45.00 - $229.00
Under 30
$45.00 - $228.00

She's back! After sell-out seasons in 2017, Christopher Wheeldon's madcap, majestic Alice returns to Melbourne.

This is your chance to find out what all the buzz was about – or to revisit the rich detail and dizzy highs of this hot-ticket show.

Wheeldon has masterfully translated the humour and eccentricity of Lewis Carroll's beloved book to the ballet stage. The Queen of Hearts rampages around her court in a hilarious parody of the Rose Adage, the White Rabbit shimmies his tail, the Caterpillar is an exotic vision with 16 sparkly pointe shoes and the Cheshire Cat is a triumph of the puppeteer's art.

The Tony Award-winning designer Bob Crowley has created a marvellous blend of high-tech wizardry and old-fashioned show-business pizazz, referencing Victorian toy theatres, needlepoint and vaudeville amid darker and stranger visions. Composer Joby Talbot captures Wonderland's moods in an evocative score alive with Cheshire purrs and ticking clocks.

The Australian Ballet's production of Alice won the Helpmann Award for Best Ballet in 2018, and was nominated in five other categories, including Best Choreography, Best Scenic Design and Best Male and Female Dancer. Now it's time to fall back down the rabbit hole – don't be late for this very important date!


Creative Team

Choreography
Christopher Wheeldon
Music
Joby Talbot, orchestrated by Christopher Austin and Joby Talbot
Scenario
Nicholas Wright
Set and costume design
Bob Crowley
Lighting design
Natasha Katz
Production design
Jon Driscoll and Gemma Carrington
Puppet concept and design
Toby Olié
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland© is a co-production between The Australian Ballet and The National Ballet of Japan The production was commissioned and first performed by The Royal Ballet and The National Ballet of Canada

The Kenneth R Reed Fund has generously supported the recreation of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland© for The Australian Ballet

  • The Australian Ballet logo

LOADING
Go to the top