Performance dates & times

3 - 11 August

3 Aug 2:00 PM (Preview Series)
3 Aug 7:30 PM (Opening Night)
4 Aug 3:00 PM
7 Aug 1:00 PM, 7:30 PM
8 Aug 1:00 PM, 7:30 PM
9 Aug 7:30 PM
10 Aug 2:00 PM*, 7:30 PM
11 Aug 3:00 PM

*Audio described performance

Running Time 2 hours 30 minutes (including interval)

Price range

$50.00 - $150.00
$75.00 - $135.00
$25.00 - $75.00

All online orders are subject to a Service Charge of up to $8.50 per order, plus any optional additional postage charges

Arts Centre Melbourne Members do not pay the $8.50 Service Charge when booking tickets online. Join today to enjoy this saving and other benefits of membership!

Take a fun-filled ride to the heart of the roaring twenties with Thoroughly Modern Millie!

It’s the height of the jazz age, the roaring 20’s, and small-town girl Millie Dillmount has just arrived in New York City, ready to make her dreams come true.

Millie’s plan is simple: find a job as a secretary for an eligible bachelor, and then marry him. It doesn’t take long for Millie’s “thoroughly modern” plan to go awry. Her conniving landlady Mrs Meers plots to kidnap Millie’s best friend Dorothy and sell her into slavery. Her wealthy boss Trevor Graydon seems entirely uninterested in her flirtations, and – worst of all – Jimmy, the man with whom she falls head over heels in love, doesn’t have a penny to his name.

Annie Aitken stars as Millie. Her performance in Candide for Sydney Philharmonia Choirs was hailed as “A show-stopping tour-de-force” (Sydney Morning Herald). Australia’s favourite leading lady, Marina Prior, is Mrs Meers. Michael Falzon (Evita) is Trevor Graydon and Claire Lyon is Miss Dorothy Brown.

The winner of six Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Thoroughly Modern Millie is based on the 1967 Academy Award-winning film and was the 2002 season’s most awarded new show on Broadway.

Subscription prices

Thoroughly Modern Millie is part of The Production Company's exciting 2019 season. Subscribe to see all three performances of Thoroughly Modern Millie, LAZARUS and RAGTIME from the best seats and save.

Evenings, Saturday matinee and Sunday matinee series

A Reserve $405
B Reserve $285
C Reserve $150

Saturday preview matinee, Wednesday matinee and Thursday matinee series

A Reserve $285
B Reserve $225
C Reserve $135

(All prices include GST)
An Arts Centre Melbourne Service Charge of $8.50 applies on each order.

Subscribe now


Annie Aitken
Millie Dillmount
Michael Falzon
Trevor Gradyon
Marina Prior
Mrs Meers
Claire Lyon
Miss Dorothy Brown


Book by
Richard Morris and Dick Scanlan
New Lyrics by
Dick Scanlan
Chris Parker
Christopher Horsey
Christina Smith
New Music by
Jeanine Tesori
Original Story and Screenplay by
Richard Morris
Musical Director
Peter Casey
Isaac Lummis
Gavan Swift
The Production Company Orchestra


  • ANZ

Go to the top