Performance dates & times

Thursday 23 Apr
7:30 PM
Friday 24 Apr
7:30 PM
Saturday 25 Apr
2:00 PM, 7:30 PM
Sunday 26 Apr
4:00 PM

Tuesday 28 Apr
6:30 PM
Wednesday 29 Apr
11:00 AM, 6:30 PM
Thursday 30 Apr
7:30 PM
Friday 1 May
7:30 PM
Saturday 2 May
2:00 PM, 7:30 PM
Sunday 3 May
4:00 PM

Tuesday 5 May
6:30 PM
Wednesday 6 May
6:30 PM
Thursday 7 May
11:00 AM, 7:30 PM
Friday 8 May
7:30 PM
Saturday 9 May
2:00 PM, 7:30 PM
Sunday 10 May
4:00 PM

Running Time 150 minutes, including interval

Price range

Standard
$75.00 – $95.00
Concession
$65.00 – $80.00
Child
$40.00 – $45.00
Groups 10+
$67.50 – $85.50
Under 30
$40.00 – $45.00*
*Under 30 prices are only available for Sunday, Tuesday and Wednesday performances, and have a limited allocation

All online orders are subject to a Service Charge of up to $8.95 per order, plus any optional additional postage charges

Arts Centre Melbourne Members do not pay the $8.95 Service Charge when booking tickets online. Join today to enjoy this saving and other benefits of membership!

Inside the glamorous court of Denmark in the 1960s, a family is torn apart by murder and betrayal.

Outside, a country is threatened by Norway. And at the centre of this struggle is a man brimming with anguish.

Hamlet is a portrait of a young man struggling with the death of his father, his mother’s hasty remarriage to his uncle, and the vision of his father’s ghost looming in his mind’s eye. A story of revenge, passion and deception, this is a Hamlet for our time.

Bell Shakespeare opens its 30th year anniversary celebrations with one of Shakespeare’s most iconic and tragic works, directed by Artistic Director Peter Evans. Featuring Harriet Gordon-Anderson (The Miser) as a young man experiencing grief in its most complex and profound state, this Hamlet will be told through the lens of loss, betrayal and madness.

This is the world of politics, where human desire for retribution quickly becomes a burden to struggle against. Set against a classically timeless backdrop where family cannot be trusted, friendships turn adversarial and the ghost of his father pushes Hamlet’s entire world to its brink.

Ordered to kill. Tempted to resist. Live or die.


Creatives

Director
Peter Evans
Designer
Anna Tregloan
Lighting Designer
Ben Cisterne
Composer & Sound Designer
Max Lyandvert
Movement & Fight Director
Nigel Poulton
Voice & Text Coach
Jess Chambers

Cast

Harriet Gordon-Anderson
Jeremi Campese
Tony Cogin
Jack Crumlin
James Evans
Kevin MacIsaac
Jane Mahady
Lisa McCune
Robert Menzies
Sophie Wilde
Aanisa Vylet

  • Bell Shakespeare

LOADING
Go to the top