Performance dates & times

Friday 17 Jul
7:30 PM
Saturday 18 Jul
7:30 PM
Monday 20 Jul
6:30 PM

Running Time 120 minutes, including a 20 minute interval

Price range

Subscriptions available via Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Single ticket prices to be announced

All online orders are subject to a Service Charge of up to $8.95 per order, plus any optional additional postage charges

Arts Centre Melbourne Members do not pay the $8.95 Service Charge when booking tickets online. Join today to enjoy this saving and other benefits of membership!

Subscriptions available via Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

In his first MSO performance as Conductor Laureate, Sir Andrew Davis returns to conduct one of the most moving tributes to grief and remembrance, Brahms’ Ein deutsches Requiem.

Brahms called it Ein deutsches Requiem to distinguish it from the Latin kind, to lift it from the merely religious, making of it something humanist and secular. A German requiem was not specifically for the German people; Brahms’ wanted it to speak to all humanity. A transcendent choral work, with gloriously tender parts for baritone and soprano, it is a work that speaks to the best of us.

Brahms began composing Ein deutsches Requiem early in 1865, only a month or so after the death of his mother. The profound sense of loss and overwhelming grief of that time is unmistakably threaded throughout the music. But there’s also a wondrous feeling of gratitude. Where most requiems focus on the dead, Brahms’ begins with the living. The first words sung are “Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted”.

This concert will also feature two works by Beethoven; a fitting tribute to the man whose bust stared down at Brahms while he composed. Firstly, we have the rarely-heard King Stephen Overture, which was commissioned by Emperor Francis I of Austria. Second is the stunning, emotionally tempestuous concert aria Ah! perfido, most famously sung by Maria Callas.


Sir Andrew Davis
Camilla Tilling
Samuel Hasselhorn
MSO Chorus


King Stephen Overture
Ah! perfido
Ein deutsches Requiem

  • MSO

Go to the top