Arts for All Appeal

Performance dates & times

Thursday 30 Jun
7:30 PM
Friday 1 Jul
7:30 PM

Running Time 1 hour 55 minutes (inc. 1 x 20 minute interval)

Price range

$69.00 – $119.00
$64.00 – $114.00

*Concession prices apply to Pensioners, Full-time students, Unemployed and Children under the age of 18

Dynamic pricing applies to this event. Ticket prices may be dynamically adjusted, either up or down, based on real-time market demand and without notice.

Xian Zhang, the first female conductor to hold a titled role with a BBC Orchestra, joins forces with the MSO and the MSO Chorus to present this program featuring Beethoven’s enduring symphonic masterpiece.

Zhao Jiping is one of China’s most active and internationally-regarded composers, whose film scores have twice earned him the coveted Golden Rooster Award for Best Music. His Violin Concerto No. 1 bathes us in soaring melodies and lush harmonies, played by illustrious violinist and MSO Artistic Ambassador Lu Siqing.

Beethoven’s truly epic final symphony features a huge orchestra, impressive singers in gorgeous gowns, an enormous choir producing a wall of sound, and the famous Ode to Joy in what has been described as the ‘symphony to end all symphonies’. Need we say more?

Please note: Due to illness, soprano Chiara Taigi is unable to perform with the MSO in this week’s performances of Beethoven 9.

She will be replaced by New Zealand soprano, Madeleine Pierard who is making her MSO debut. You can read about Madeleine Pierard here.


Book with confidence

For tickets booked through Arts Centre Melbourne, if a performance is cancelled or postponed due to COVID-19, you can receive a full refund. Tickets can also be exchanged for another performance date, subject to availability.



Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Xian Zhang
Ning Feng
Jacqueline Dark
Nathan Berg
MSO Chorus
Warren Trevelyan-Jones
Chorus director


Zhao Jiping
Violin Concerto No.1
Symphony No.9

  • MSO

Go to the top